Awards and Honors



The Golding Medal (The Board of Governor's Clinical Gold Medal)


Llewelyn Scholarship


Norman C. Lake Prize in Surgery


William Travers Prize in Obstetrics and Gynecology


Thomas Henry Green Prize in Clinical Medicine


Prize in Orthopedics


Prize in Gynecology


Prize in Radiology


David Winser Essay Prize


1977 Simpson-Smith Surgical Travel Scholarship


1977-1978 Wellcome Trust Surgical Fellowship


1978 Raven Prize, British Association of Surgical Oncology


1980 Gosse Scholarship, Charing Cross Hospital Medical School


1989 Distinguished Scientist, National University of Cordoba, Republic of Argentina


1994 Albert Segaloff Memorial Lecturer, Alton Ochsner Medical Foundation


1995-1997 President, New York Metropolitan Breast Group


1995-2003 Secretary General, the International Society for Cancer Chemoprevention


1998 Elected to the American Surgical Association


2001 Ellen Dryer Memorial Lecture, Sass Foundation New York


2004 Extraordinary Achievement Award, Smith Barney & Susan G. Komen Foundation


2010 ‘Beacon of Light’ award for 40 Years of Excellence


2014-2015 President, the New York Surgical Society